The Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA) will provide free one-day unlimited pass to commuters inoculated at various LRT-2 COVID-19 vaccination sites on March 1, 2022.

This was announced on Monday by LRTA in line with the efforts of the Department of Transportation (DOTR) to promote a safe public transport system and contribute to the COVID-19 vaccination drive of the government.

“This free ride program aims to encourage more commuters to get vaccinated and boosted. We need to step up our vaccination efforts in order to ensure the safety and protection of our commuting public,” LRTA Management said.

The pass, which is valid for one-day unlimited use, shall be issued immediately after the passenger’s vaccination. A passenger availing of a ride at Line 2 must present his pass and a valid ID to the security/station personnel upon entry at the AFCS gates in order to avail of free rides.

After a successful partnership with the City Governments of Manila and Antipolo, LRTA is set to roll-out an additional vaccination site at the LRT-2 Araneta Center-Cubao station on March 7, 2022, and in partnership with the City Government of Quezon. The vaccination site in Cubao is open every Monday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm and will provide 1st dose and booster shots. Recto Station vaccine site is open every Tuesdays and Thursdays from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. while Antipolo Station vaccine site is open every Wednesdays and Fridays from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Due to the experienced increasing number of would-be vaccinees patronizing Line 2 sites, the City Governments of Manila, Antipolo, and Quezon are willing and ready to increase the initial target of 200 vaccinees per day per vaccination site for so long as it is necessary.

DOTr and LRTA is grateful for the support and cooperation of the local government partners as they shared the same goal of bringing the COVID-19 vaccines readily available, accessible, and closer to the riding public.

The LRT Line 2 is a 17.69 kilometer rail line traversing the route from Recto to Antipolo, passing through the cities of Manila, San Juan, Quezon City, Pasig, Marikina and Antipolo. ###